Wednesday, 30 May 2012

Audio Texture Radio Show - May 25, 2012

Jesse Futerman kicks off the show this week with his beat tribute to Yusef Lateef before one of modern funks finest, Sugarman 3, get all new retro and show most of the others how it's done. Heatsick then provided the raw, lo-fi Casio vibes which sound a whole lot better than most tunes produced in double expensive studios. The raw, vintage, electronic experiments of Bruck Haack were then given a little twist from Prince Language for good measure.

We've slept a bit on The Internet but we were happy to pick up the album a couple of weeks ago as they're definitely one of the more interesting Odd Future acts as 'Lincoln' ably demonstrates. Now we are happy to announce, after championing them since day one, that the Mancini & The Creepers album has finally arrived and it's great, fresh, UK urban vocal business - well done Jakarta records for making it happen. XL records have dragged the one and only, Bobby Womack back into the studio with the intent of doing a "Gil Scott" on him. From what we've heard it hasn't all worked but 'The Bravest Man' is certainly sounding fine.

Traxman then juked up the dance, Chicago style, with the mellowest track from his recent and good (by Chicago standards) album, out on Planet Mu. Things then took a turn for the mellow with Simon Scott and part of his tribute album to the flat and boring, Fens in East Anglia of all places. Trapist kept things generally horizontal but with some nice percussive and abrupt wake up moments to keep you on your toes before Fetsum kept the mellow vibes rolling, nice and steady style.

Now we're suckers for a good cover version and Gabriele Poso has come up with a really fresh jazz take on the Dawn Penn classic 'You Don't Love Me'. Atjazz then provided a super musical, souful house take on GP's  Cuban project before from out of hiding Dobie comes through with a little taster of his great new EP for Big Dada.

Jesse Futerman - Yusef feat. Milo of Sibian & Faun (Jus Like Music)
Sugarman 3 - Rudy's Intervention (Daptone promo)
Heatsick - Deviation (Pan promo)
Bruck Haack - Party Machine, Prince Language rmx (Stonesthrow)
The Internet featuring Left Brain & Mike G - Lincoln (Odd Future)
Mancini & The Creepers - Dont You Remember (Jakarta)
Bobby Womack - The Bravest Man In The Universe (XL promo)
Traxman - Chilllll (Planet Mu)
Simon Scott - 1._Sealevel.5 (12K)
Trapist - Pisa (Experimedia promo)
Fetsum - Birth Of A River (Sonar Kollectiv promo)
Gabriele Poso - You Don't Love Me feat Osunade (Infracom)
Gilles Peterson's Havana Cultura Band - Orisa feat Dreiser & Sexto Sentido, Atjazz Love Soul rmx (Brownswood)
Dobie - Hustle With Speed (Bid Dada promo)