Sunday, 26 August 2012

Audio Texture Radio Show - August 10, 2012

No mellow start to the show this week as The Gaslamp Killer swaggered into the show with some attitude from his new EP about to drop on Brainfeeder. Deep Afro vibes then followed from new Ethiopian boy on the block, Samuel Yirga which paved the way for a deep, killer Simbad remix of Bongos Ikwue before LV threw down some future Anglo African beats with 'Primus Stove'. Forward thinking UK hip hop was then the order of the day first with The Insomniax daring to be different to great effect before new boys on the block Jesse Boykins III & Melo-X came through with the future deepness, we can' wait for that album, due in September.

Kasket dropped perhaps our favourite tune from the relaunched Apollo label before Mala single handedly started the nu-jazz revival with his Cuban bassline flavours recorded on his recent visit to the island. Lorn has been given some nice remix treatment from his new EP, it was a tough decision but the Illum Sphere remix just won out. Dead Western then changed the shows vibe with their scuzzy, pysched out folk before LTO showed what a force for good the new Sullen Tone label is shaping up to be. The new album from Kane Ikin on 12K is a wonderful thing, ably demonstrated by 'Titan' before we dropped a little taster from the latest and strongest Free The Beats comp courtesy of the THC saturated, Durban Poison.

Now one of our albums of the year is about to come out this Autumn from the Leipzig trio Praezisa Rapid 3000. Forget the alphabetically challenged 314159265 album title and just delve straight into a wonderful world of beats, wide ranging influences and expertly stitched together flavours - wonderful stuff with more to come in future shows. A Robot Koch & Rain Dog collaboration then finished the show off in fittingly deep style.

The Gaslamp Killer - Seven Years of Bad Luck, with Dimlite (Brainfeeder promo)
Samuel Yirga - Abet Abet, Punt rmx (Rough Guide)
Bongos Ikwue - Love of My Life, Simbad Lover mix (BIK)
LV - Primus Stove (Hyperdub promo)
The Insomniax - Friday Comes feat Roses Gabor (Earnest Endeavours promo)
Jesse Boykins III & Melo-X - Black Orpheus (Ninja Tune promo)
Kasket - Fallen (Apollo)
Mala - Calle F (Brownswood)
Lorn - Weigh Me Down, Illum Sphere remix (Ninja Tune)
Dead Western - What I Know (Discorporate promo)
LTO - Found Sounds (Sullen Tone promo)
Kane Ikin - Titan (12K promo)
Durban Poison - Slipping (Free The Beats)
Praezia Rapid 3000 - AAA Bateries (Noble promo)
Robot Kock x Rain Dog - Never Will (Project Mooncircle)

Thursday, 16 August 2012

Audio Texture Radio Show - August 3rd, 2012

No time for idle chatter or music musings, just some unlinked tracklist action for this week's show:

The Shaolin Afronauts - Forests Of Io (Freestyle)
Afrobeat Makers - Long Ride (Comet)
Charles Atangana & Emitais - Onguido (Hot Casa)
The Cutler - Sync Estate (Steel Tiger Records)
Teengirl Fantasy - Motif (R&S)
Jazzanova - I Human, Mike Huckaby rmx (Sonar Kollektiev)
Rain Dog - Keep Me (Project Mooncircle)
Falty DL - Hardcourage (Ninja Tune)
The Invisible - Wings, Floating Points rmx (Ninja Tune)
Strange U - Plastique (Eglo promo)
Blue Daisy x Unknown Shapes - All Night Long (Black Acre)
Empt - Far (Project Mooncircle)

Sunday, 5 August 2012

Audio Texture Radio Show - July 26, 2012

So the Audio Texture Radio Show is back to it's weekly musical shenanigans after a bit of a break and we have to say it's good to be back and sharing some of the unsung heroes of the musical underground once more.

Kid Koala kicked off the show with his raw, sample based, blues killer '6 Bit Blues' before Belleruche kept the vibes mellow and the Ross PTH mix stretched out the soulful goodness. Submerse then put more emphasis on the beats but protected the soul before Sculpture took Snorkel's insistent 'Wet Tongue' and remixed it in fine, unrelenting style. Hip Hop vibes were then the order of the day with the all too short, Madlib produced Freddie Gibbs track 'Terrorist' before Paul White and Homeboy Sandman's 'A Weird Day' was given a fresh vibe with The Room Below remix. LV then enlisted Okmalumkoolkat to provide the African lyrical goodness to his UK bassline beats.

Old Apparutus have kicked off their new label, Sullen Tone in more than fine fashion with 'Derren' giving you enough reason to want to know more. Senking then gave us all a lesson in low end vibes but included some lighter touches to partly soothe the underlying menace. Spinachprince are a great new music and beats crew signed to Eat Concrete with their musical touches making them stand out from the button pushing crowd and 'Bearings' is just one of the fine moments on their new Executive EP.

Om Unit's finest moment to date 'Ulysses' has been given a great Sweatson Klank remix before Gang Colours showed his talent with a great remix of Leon Vynehall's 'Gold Language'. Now we have to admit to not being massive on the Egyptology album but 'Airborne Corridor' jumped out a mile with it's extended, hypnotic, Balearic goodness - big tune. Medline then ended the show in fine style with his version of 'People Make The World Go Round' which features on the great new MPM compilation, Where The Wild Creatures Meet.

Kid Koala - 6 Bit Blues (Ninja Tune)
Belleruche - Wasted Time, Ross PTH Mix (Tru-Thoughts)
Submerse - Cream Soda (Project Mooncircle)
Snorkel - Wet Tongue, Sculpture remix (Slowfoot)
Freddie Gibbs - Terrorist (Stones Throw)
Paul White - A Weird Day feat. Homeboy Sandman, The Room Below version (OHM)
LV - Zulu Compurar feat Okmalumkoolkat (Hyperdub)
Old Apparatus - Derren (Sullen Tone)
Senking - Closing Eyes (Raster Norton)
Spinachprince - Bearings (Eat Concrete)
Om Unit - Ulysses, Sweatson Klank rmx (Civil Music)
Leon Vynehall - Gold Language, Gang Colours rmx (Man Make Music)
Egyptology - Airborne Corridor (Clapping Music)
Medline - People Make The World Go Round (MPM)

Audio Teture Radio Show - June 1, 2012

So the Audio Texture Radio Show went AWOL for most of June and July due in part to computer logic board meltdown and then the desire to actually take a bit of a break after producing 45-50 shows a year for the last 4 years.

I've got to admit to actually enjoying the break but also to missing the show so I'm glad to report it will be back to it's regular weekly slots on the various stations and all reputable streaming services from now on.

Here is the tracklist for the the last show before the logic board meltdown:

Policy - One Last Time, Falty DL Remix (Rush Hour)
Rey & Kjavik - Listen (Compost Black)
The Invisible - Wings (Ninja Tune)
Deco Child - Diamond Drops (Ninja Tune)
Portformat - Bitter Sweet feat Eagle Nebula & Trezure Empire (TDR)
Debruit - Ogene Udu (Civil Music)
Maga Bo - O Neguinho feat. Biguli (Post World Industries)
Sleepin Giantz - Badungdeng (Tru-Thoughts)
Wattville - Clan (Sonic Router)
Bandshell - Metzger (Hessle Audio)
Kilo - Dickicht (Experientalstudio Brigittenau)
Lorn - Ghosst(s), Shed Remix (Ninja Tune)
Snorkel - One Long Conundrum (Slowfoot)